GOD NEVER CHANGES AND HE IS OUR ANCHOR DURING TOUGH TIMES

JULY 22, 2012

This past week there was another shooting in Aurora. At a movie theatre. A man calmly entered the theatre and began shooting people and then calmly left and was arrested at his car. Bizarre! And heart breaking. I am still praying for people who lost their homes in the High Parks fire as well as in the Colorado Springs Fire–more than 600 homes total were lost–it is very sad. My question is this: How in the world can we handle such tragedy and still maintain some sort of sanity? Pastor John today at church helped me to understand the mind of God a bit more. Because, in the light of our changing world, He is our anchor and our hope and He is the only one who can bring us through such awful events. My God, please give hope and healing to all these people who have lost so much. Please touch the hearts of all those people and give them comfort. I ask that you make your presence so clear to them that they feel you daily as they walk through the healing process.

Here is a little bit of what  Pastor John spoke about:

In our changing world where tragedy strikes at every turn, who is it we can depend on? Who is it we can trust completely and Who can help us come through and experience his Joy? In our changing world, who or what does not change? I need to know God!

1) GOD’S CHARACTERDOES NOT CHANGE and becomes the anchor for our lives to lean on;

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father, who does not change like shifting shadows.               James 1:17

2) JESUS IS THE HOPE OF THE WORLD (HE IS ONLY ONE YOU CAN TRUST!)                                                             THAT DOES NOT CHANGE.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever  Hebrews 13:8

3) GOD’S WORD WILL NEVER CHANGE.

The grass withers, the flowers fall, but the Word of our Lord stands forever.                                                           Isaiah 40:8

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path. Psalm 119:105

Heaven and earth will pass away but My word will never pass away.                                                            Matthew 24:35

4) THE HUMAN CONDITION DOES NOT CHANGE. We are full of sin!

A voice says, ‘Cry out.’ And I said, ‘What shall I cry?’ ‘All people are like grass, and all human faithfulness is like the flowers of the field.’  Isaiah 40:6

For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.  Romans 3:23

5) THE PURPOSE  OF THE CHURCH DOES NOT CHANGE.

Go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I will be with you always, to the very end of the age.                    Matthew 28:19-20

It was quite a challenging sermon–But the Deaf were all there–all four of them. They seemed like they were paying attention. The crux of the matter is that because we know that, in the midst of a changing world (with all the technological changes, political changes, etc, as well as life changes (people die, people killing each other, the down-trend in the economy, all those heart-breaking situations that happen. How can we survive all that?) We need to anchor our self to a God who does not change, and that is where our support comes from, and our strength.  Thankfully He is our rock, He is the same yesterday, today and forever. We must go out and invite others to church and teach them about Jesus. If we don’t do that, they may never know the community you can have when you go to church; they may never know Jesus’ salvation; they may never know the support you can receive from following God with other believers to support you. They may never understand that Jesus gave up His life for us so we could have freedom. They may never feel God’s hand supporting them in all their endeavors. They may never have the opportunity of watching God’s had at work as they get involved in helping someone fix up their house or helping with vacation Bible School, or they may never get to feel the joy that comes with serving God in other ways! And when they die where will they go?

The sermons lately have been on-fire! But can we apply this to our life and actually go out and minister in the way we are called to? Can we actually go out and make disciples?

I feel like my interpretation was good, that I got across the message to the Deaf. We need quite a bit of prayer though that we as a Deaf community can take the message to heart and go out and share with others God’s good news. The challenge that Pastor John gave us penetrated my heart–but will I do it?  Soon, hopefully, the Deaf will want to get a Bible study or small group started.  I, for one, desire that. God can penetrate their hearts through the interpretations and that is my desire, to know their language so well that the message is crystal clear every time.

Right now I am preparing for a trip to Washington DC (will leave next Saturday). In the midst of our travels (I will be going with my daughter, Jessica and Lloyd. ) –I am very excited for this trip! I will be using this time to pray and ask God for direction and guidance and for Him to teach me how to make disciples. Whoever reads this, please pray for us. Thank you for that.May God richly bless you.


About margeebee

I have a wonderful husband (Lloyd) who has always supported me and I love him very much. I am a mom --I have three grown children and a son-in-law. --God and my family are my highest priorities and we have so much fun together. My most recent profession is that of being a sign language interpreter. I graduated from an interpreter program when I was 58 and have devoted much of my time since then to learning the language. I love my Lord and try and spend time with him every day. He is helping me learn the intricacies of sign language. I pray for my family and friends often -- They are an inspiration to my life. I enjoy hanging out with Deaf people and teaching deaf children English--that is always a rewarding experience. My husband and I enjoy worshiping God through Israeli dancing and often pray for Israel and our country. We enjoy traveling throughout Colorado, Wyoming, Nebraska and Israel while ministering. I became a grandmother for the first time in 2012, and am enjoying watching my daughter and son-in-law raise this little one. I have the privilege of babysitting my precious grandson 3 days a week and for that, am putting everything else aside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

